NUJ Condemns attack of Senator Nora Dadu’ut and Journalists in Namu, Quan’pan LGA

The Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ), Plateau State Council has condemned the unfortunate attack on the Senator Representing Plateau South Senatorial District, Prof Nora Dadu’ut and members of the union at Namu in Quan’pan LGA after the commissioning of an ICT Hub/E-Library facilitated by the Senator, on Thursday, 28th April 2022.

This was disclosed during a Press Conference on Friday 29th April 2022 at the NUJ Secretariat in Jos, the Plateau State Capital. The Union stated that “…The attackers claimed that four of their members were arrested by armed security men while the programme was ongoing.”. The hoodlums were said to have been angered by the arrest of a suspected wanted kidnap kingpin by security agencies, and thus decided to vent their anger on passers by and any innocent person they encountered.

According to the Union “The hoodlums then demanded that the senator must secure the release of  their members  before they would clear the roads.”

“The hoodlums held the Senator and the journalists captive for over three hours  before men of Operation Safe Haven intervened.”

“While the Senator and her husband were rescued by the STF, the journalists scampered for safety with one of them sustaining an injury in the process.”

While no life was lost, the Union’s Hummer Bus donated by the Plateau State Government was burnt alongside the Senator’s pilot Hilux van.

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) condemned the unwarranted and unprovoked attack on its members who were there   to serve the society,  wondering why journalists are being targeted while carrying out their legitimate duties.

The union called on security agencies to fish out the perpetrators of the dastardly act and punish them accordingly to serve as deterrent to others contemplating such action.

They also called on government to come down hard on the perpetrators as Namu has become a hotbed of violence and criminality and the state cannot be afford to continue on that path.

The union listed journalists  affected as follows;

1. Peter Amine – NAN
2. Gyang Bere –  Sun Newspaper
3. Isaac Shobayo -Tribune Newspaper
4. Audu Ojogbane – Daily Independent Newspaper
5. Kolade Adeyemi – The Nation Newspaper
6. Achor Abimaje – Leadership Newspaper
7. Pam Musa – Telegragh Newspaper
8. Marie-Therese Nanlong – Vanguard Newspaper
9. Babatunde Ajayi    – Silverbird Communications
10. Bishop Milton – Silverbird Communications Cameraman
11. Nanmwa Golok – Nigerian Pilot Newspaper
12. Kingsley Chukwuka – Dailytimes Newspaper
13. Alex Mangar- PRTVC
14. Mr John  – Driver

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s